Uncategorized

Home Reformation

A Biblical and Practical Guide for the Christian Home by Adam Burrell

How does a household of sinners strive towards sanctification and bring glory to the Lord? What does a godly household look like? How can I possibly read a book to help me learn these things while my kids run crazy? (That last one though….)

In all seriousness the way of the Christian home has somewhat fallen to the wayside in recent decades. I know as a child growing up in a Christian home we were more unspoken about such matters. It was more of the ‘church’s responsibility’ to teach the Bible and the gospel. In his book, Pastor Adam Burrell points to the parents and says it is your responsibility to disciple your family.

Allow me to highlight that he says family. Not simply children. Home Reformation is not a book on parenting your children, though there are certainly chapters which address such matters. Home Reformation is about refocusing your household on the gospel and how to center all you do around it. How to let it shape you to be more Christ-like in the midst of a world that seeks to, at best, make us apathetic to the importance of it and, at worst, destroy it.

In a book you could easily read over the span of a day if left to it, he addresses the importance of family worship, washing your wife with the Word, instructing your children in the Lord, and many more aspects of home life. Though relatively short, this book is full of rich truths that, if applied, should direct each person living in your home towards our Creator. In all honesty, this book gently urges you to care for one another as Christ does for His church.

Whether young or old, new parents or well seasoned this book will refresh and renew the way we view the home as a place for spiritual growth and discipline. I encourage anyone who is striving towards a Christ-centered home to pick up a copy. It certainly shaped the way I view our own home in many ways. Making our dependence on our Savior all the more precious and necessary.

Personally, I found so much value in this little book. I wish I had had it when I was younger. I also wish I could put it in the hands of so many more. I am thankful I’ve been given this book as we are just beginning our journey as parents. It is such a simple, straight-forward guide for the Christian home.