LuLaRoe Conversation

Today’s post is off topic. Normally I would post about my reading or writing ventures, but today I felt the need to post on something that I felt has been unfairly judged. A hot topic that many women have been talking about. A company a little different than others you may have heard of. 

That’s right, LuLaRoe.

LuLaRoe on the surface appears like many other home sales companies do. Ran by women, pyramid scheme, pushy sales consultants, overpriced, and something you can buy anywhere else. At first glance I’d agree with you. I was wary about dealing with them. And in the next few paragraphs I’d like to address each of these points along with a few others.

Ran by women

The company was founded by a woman and is primarily populated by female consultants… for now. Many husbands have taken to not only supporting their wives and significant others in the business, but have also walked away from their jobs to also work along side them in the LLR business.

Pyramid scheme

So as a consultant you have an upline and possibly a downline. Sounds like a pyramid scheme, right? Wrong. Here’s why: in your typical pyramid scheme the upline take a portion of the downline’s sales. In LuLaRoe the downline’s sales are theirs alone. The upline then gets paid from the company the percentage they would have taken from the downline’s sales.

Pushy sales consultants

Okay, here’s the sticking point for me. No matter what sales company you are looking at (Macy’s, car dealerships, Mary Kay, Charlotte Russe, etc.) you will find pushy sales consultants. Period. There is no exception. However, in the same industry you will also find sales consultants you love and wanna take with you everywhere. Holding a single company aloft for having such a consultant is irresponsible and frivolous.

Overpriced

Go to a mall. Everyone up charges their merchandise. Everyone. It’s called profit. It’s also called supply and demand. But let me ask you this, when was the last time you found a quality piece of clothing that fit well, had a unique print/feel/design, and was practical? It’s okay, I’ll wait…

I thought so. Their clothing is made specifically by their company. They are the only place you will ever find these fabrics, prints, and modest styles. They are not just cheaply made and trashy. They are very stylish and comfortable. Something you will be hard pressed to find in the same price bracket. 

Sure you can find cheap comfy clothes at Wal-Mart but they will be either boring yoga pants or sweats. You’ll hardly find easy throw on clothes that look and feel this good. Which hits my next point really well…

Can’t find it anywhere else

These clothes are printed only once. Each pattern has 2,500 pieces per pattern and that’s it. You will never again see the same pattern as that same dress again. Anywhere. 

I also wanted to say that some have complained about the fact that they may be a small in one style and a large in another. Again, holding a single company responsible for this and not faulting others is highly unfair. I can go to Target and pick up one brand of jeans in a size 6 and have them fit, I can pick up another brand from the same  store in a size 6 and it not fit. But I still shop there. I have enough common sense to know that different cuts fit differently, as do different fabrics. Who cares what your number is? If you look and feel fabulous then rock you!

Now, have I heard some legitimate complaints? Sure. But understand this company is still very new. As of right now they are only 4 years old. They have some growing to do and with that comes some challenges. But that’s to be expected with a new business. 

The other main complaint I’ve heard is about how they sell their items. They sell through many outlets such as albums, live sales on Facebook, in home sales, and what’s called Pop-ups where they set up in your home like a Tupperware party. My advice on this? If you don’t like it then shop elsewhere. 

I understand not every store is right for every person. Not every style is right for everyone either. And that’s okay! I’m not going to force LuLaRoe on someone who doesn’t want anything to do with it. That’s perfectly fine. But if you are going to call out one company for doing something that many others do then you must call out the others as well.

Do your research. Ask questions of those in the business and those who have had various experiences with them. Hear both sides. 

*As of right now I do not sell nor assist in the sale of LuLaRoe. I am merely a consumer. My consultant is awesome and very professional. She does exchanges on any merchandise that is either unsatisfactory or faulty.*

