Can I be Sure I’m Saved…

Before reading this review I want to express something to you. Dear reader, I greatly enjoy reviewing books which entertain you. I love giving you inspiration on what could be your next adored series. But I also am a Christian and will occasionally post on certain topics concerning my faith. I hope to never post things that are hurtful or upsetting. I understand not everyone will hold with my same beliefs, and that is your prerogative. I do, however, ask that if you disagree or find offense with such a post that you either express it in a calm and polite manner or not at all. This is my personal blog and I never intend to hurt anyone. But at the end of the day it is my blog and I have the freedom of speech. I also have the ability to remove hateful comments. I believe it is my job as a Christian to love you, not to curse. However, my stance is with the Bible and it does not always say what people want to hear. And if someone posts rude, crude, or hateful comments I will remove them. Not on the stance that I am afraid of someone not agreeing with me. But on the belief that for someone to be hurtful to those who are like-minded to my religion is only spreading meanness and hate, and I will not tolerate it.

So without further ado, here is my review! (Haha, that rhymed!)

By R.C. Sproul

In our family this question had plagued us, myself especially. And while I don’t normally read religious materials, this one came at a very perfect time.

In his book R.C. Sproul breaks salvation down in five chapters. The book (or booklet) addresses the idea of what salvation is and how it is reflected in our everyday lives. Whether it is real or if we just imagined it. He takes the time to define four different views on it; those who are saved and know it, those who are saved and don’t know it, those who are not saved and know it, those who are saved and don’t know it. It sounds a little confusing at first but it makes a lot of sense later.

While this book is deep in theology and can seem a bit overwhelming, the writer really does a fantastic job of exposing where we all stand. I really admired how he used the scriptures to enlighten and explain. This booklet is packed with valuable information. I am convinced that if you hold a medium amount of knowledge about Christianity and are curious as to your soul’s condition that you will walk away from this book assured of where you stand.

I know my spirit while I read this felt brightened and soothed. I feel as if I finally was able to understand where my assurance comes from and how to maintain that hold during difficult times. This book will either uplift you or upset you. It may even frighten you. But that fear is the beginning of knowledge of God.

Ten out of ten for me.

Have a good one!

