Reading Habits…

I was asked to do a “Reading Habits” blog post by https://iwillneverownenoughbooks.wordpress.com/. So here goes….

Do you have certain places at home for reading?

Nope. I don’t really read at home much. Too distracting, and that’s an irony you’ll see in later question answers.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Receipt. And occasional work tip, post-it note, or small snippet handed to me. So, random piece of paper I guess.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?

It really depends on what style of novel I’m reading. Most sci-fi/fantasy/romance books have great stopping points. Literary classics, however, usually require a self-imposed stopping point.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

Nope! Usually I don’t eat or drink while reading. It keeps me occupied and I actually forget to eat. Unless I’m reading about food stuffs… then I am starving by the end of the chapter. And normally ends up costing me all kinds of money. Thank you Tempest Series for the cardamom phase.

Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

Something in the background. I really like music because I live for the moments when the text and the song suddenly align. Many a playlist were conceived through a novel. It can, however, ruin movies for me.

One book at a time or several all at once?

Oh several! I’ve been up to twelve before. My relatives are confused by it but I just liken it to watching a bunch of television series all at once. The Walking Dead and Once Upon a Time are totally different shows.

Reading at home or everywhere?

Everywhere but home. My brain wants to work while at home. It is constantly alerting me to tasks that need to be done. It’s annoying. I have to have some noise to drown out. I also enjoy ignoring people with my books. Not rudely, just their commotion. Parks, theatres, restaurants, work… any busy place really. I guess it can attribute it to learning to read in school while everyone else didn’t.

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Silently. I only occasionally read aloud. That’s when it’s either to another person or I’m completely alone and am not sure how someone meant for something to come across.

Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

I used to but now I’m very against it. I’ll even put my hand over paragraphs to keep my eyes from cheating.

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

For goodness sake! If it’s a hardback it must be kept in as pristine shape as possible. But if it is a paperback I love leaving little creases along the spine. Signs of my love and affection.

Do you write in your books?

No! Never! Bad form.

Those are my little nerdy habits! I hope you enjoy! Have a good one!

