Interesting and yet…..

So some months back I picked up a book that had been haunting me. You know the feeling, when you’ve browsed the stacks for weeks on end searching for your next victim- oh I mean- read. And one book keeps popping up. Then after reading a few reviews on the book you still can’t decide.

Well this is that book. And I’d actually like to challenge you guys as well. See, this book is a bit hard to read. Not because it is crazy complex story-wise. (Like our hush, Hush series.) No,it’s about how the book is written.

According to the back of the book the writers are both well educated and one writes for a living. So, I’m having a hard time figuring out why this story is so… for lack of a better phrase, poorly written. It isn’t grammatically incorrect, nor is it riddled with misspellings. This book seems to have forgot how to story.

The paragraphs spin a fascinating steam-punk tale about a woman, Eliza Braun, and her misadventures in the Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences. She isn’t your everyday British lady. No, Eliza seeks to be the hero. In her unusual garb of men’s attire she solves problems her way, which may get her into trouble more often than not.

And while the story is, indeed, captivating, it is the form that is nearly off putting. The sentences are combined in a very odd manner and the structure makes it difficult to decipher. It’s almost as if they wanted you to have to dig in order to find the story. To reposition it, as it were.

So, my challenge to you, fair reader, is to read the book. No really, just read the novel from start to finish. I have chosen to do the same. Read the novel and then post a review in the comments section of this post. I want to see if you think I’m wrong.

Title: Phoenix Rising: A Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences Novel

Let me know what you think.

Have a good one!

