NaNo Day 21!

Wow, it’s already the 21st…

If you’re anything like me you’ve had quite a hectic week. Mine has had all kinds of emotional ups and downs and different new adventures. And while all this isn’t exactly bad I find myself looking at my laptop and not really wanting to write today…

Now to be honest, I did write some and the day isn’t over yet. But right now I’m kind of floating.

But it’s almost the final hour!!! I know! I’m getting to it!

So while I’ve been browsing the web and feeling like I’ll never finish this book in a million years I stumbled on something from someone I admire. She’s another kind of writer, you may have even heard of her. Hayley Williams. In her recent blog post covering the past year I feel like we can all relate, especially my fellow writers. Here’s a snippit of what she wrote:

“The reason I’m saying all this is to show you that even when things look simple or wonderful on the surface, there’s always a battle to be fought. Don’t let it stop you from getting where you want to be. It’s not about where you think you should be, or even where you think you deserve to be. Where do you want to be?”

So, it’s at this moment that I pose the same question to myself and you. Where do you want to be? In one week where do you want to be? Do you want to be at 6k, 10k, 30k, 49.5k? I want to be at 50,000 words. That’s my goal. It’s not easy, if it was then everyone could do it. 50,000 words is hard! It takes discipline, avoidance of editing, speed writing, and TONS of coffee! But when you’ve made it to your goal, that place you’ve been looking to over the past month, you will be so proud to have reached it.

I was recently invited to send in questions to one of my favorite authors, Gail Carriager. She answered not only mine but many, many others. And one of her inqueries was this:

“Which did/are you enjoy(ing) writing more? Finishing School or Parasol Protectorate?

Gail Carriger: I always love the novel I just finished the most (because I finished it) and the one I am working on the least (because it seems like i will never be done. So right now I love Prudence and hate Manners & Mutiny.”

So even as you are staring dead-eyed at your screen dreading this novel just press on until it is finished. It is totally worth the work and sense of accomplishment.

I hope this helps you as much as it did me! Have a great one!

