Where’s the Posts?!

Ah vacation! Nothing like taking the time to visit family and hit the lake. While I was out I had every intention of posting, then I realized that while everyone was tied in to a single WiFi connection that wasn’t going to happen.

Anyway, I have been writing and reading all the while. One of the things I’ve noticed is that people write time spans differently.

For example, if you have read the Twilight saga then you know there are skips and leaps of time passing. If you have read any of the Tahereh Mafi series Shatter Me then you know that time is step by step.

Now both of these styles are incredible in their own right. In Shatter Me and Unravel Me I feel like the author wrote straight through. This may not be true, but the sense is that you are living right through Juliette. Breathing her breath, feeling the passing of time, tick by every tick of the clock as she counts everything.

With the Twilight saga the passage of time when Edward leaves is shown by page after page of months. It leaves you feeling as if you’ve missed out on days of Bella’s life. Which, after a major tragedy, people usually do.

You still feel the loss and insanity in both even though they are done differently.

I read in a blog from Kristen Lamb that she decided in one of her novels to not replay the previous events from the previous novel. She picked up some time later in her lead’s life. So you know she survived a gun shot, but in order to understand the next part of the story you don’t have to have read the first.

In my stories I like to try different styles and techniques. Like when I’m drawing and I learn a new way to shade or highlight. I may not use it in such an obvious or quick way, but throwing it in here and there is nice.

I guess what I’m saying is not to be afraid to try new things. It can only add to your growth as a writer and as a person. The Write Great Fiction series are amazing books that challenge you in many ways. Each chapter has exercises and recommendations. Even if you feel you are an awesome writer use these, and other, novels to help you hone those techniques. Talent still takes practice to perfect.

Have a great one!

