The Sun Set

image

For those of you who may already know we have lost a very talented soul. This past week we have said farewell to Robin Williams. A man who brought laughter to people of all ages. A man who made me laugh so hard I couldn’t breathe.

A man who, however, died from his demons.

Many people through the years have watched Robin Williams portray various characters living various lives. From Mork and Mindy to the genie from Aladdin. Mr. Williams sure knew how to tickle that old funny bone.

But what occasionally fueled these comedic moments was something unfortunate: drugs. Many times during his stand up routines Robin would joke about drug use and rehab. As much fun as we, his audience, had laughing with him, behind the scenes the same fuel ignited something sinister. Depression.

The funny man was found to be hollow when it came to his perception on life.

I’d like to address here what depression truly is. I honestly wouldn’t have believed it if I hadn’t seen it myself.
Depression comes in many forms. Whether it is bipolar, substance induced, major, etc it makes those involved miserable. It doesn’t matter how many laughs an individual with depression has if they don’t seek treatment. Robin Williams was a prime example.
Depression can be caused by many things. Such as: constant negativity, a chemical imbalance, seasonal changes,  hormonal changes, loss, self doubt, and many others.

Fortunately, there is hope.

I believe that Robin Williams died due to depression caused by drug addiction. When I look back he seemed very intelligent and clever. I believe in his mind he found himself to be more so while on drugs. But I also believe it became more than an addiction, it became a void. A black hole. A void that he couldn’t fill even with laughter. Because drug use isn’t very funny.

My hope is for his family and friends to find peace. I also hope his beloved fans remember him for his times of joy instead of his unfortunate end. He wanted to make people laugh, he lived to bring a smile to your face. I believe that we should grieve his loss for a season, but remember that spring does come.

I do implore you that if you are struggling with similar issues like depression, you will seek professional help! You mean something to someone. You are valuable. There is hope. Don’t wait, your joy and happiness are waiting!

