I must be a hermit!

To accomplish anything I’d have to be a hermit.

I’ve recently been getting acclimated in a new job, which I love, and have had zero time.  *tears* From getting in touch with everyone to ordering business cards, it has been a journey.

So as I fall into my routine I’m trying to read all of the books on writing I can. (And all of the novels occupying my stacks as well if my Kindle would stay charged. ) I’ve clearly fallen behind however, I have gotten all of my story plotted out!

One of my major hang ups is everything that’s in between those plot points. If I’m not careful I’ll end up doing exactly what bothers me, as a reader, most.

I’m a gamer. I love playing detective games. So, naturally, I picked up Nancy Drew. As I have played through it I loved the places you’ll find clues, the story that accompanies it, and the different characters. But I swear…. Every time I need to travel to a different room, or anywhere, it’s the longest journey! Two steps-two steps-two steps. … On and on and on! It’s a miracle I get anything done!

*maddening*

When I’m writing I tend to do the exact same thing. In the dialogue book I’ve been reading they stress that dialogue serves a few purposes. First, and most important, it moves the story on. Second, it points to later events. And third, it tells you how a character is feeling. Tell don’t show. By that I mean have a character talk about their location, their plans, their friends.

What does every villain do? Monologue. They have the hero tied to the rail road tracks and they tell them EVERYTHING. That’s what we as writers must do. Otherwise everything becomes two steps. “She walked to the fridge. She opened the door. She looked inside. She found the juice. She grabbed the juice” yada-yada-yada!

So, how did I fix my two step issue? Obviously I used dialogue. But I also created more plot points to connect. Less of that blasted in between.

At the end focus on your next big idea and map it out. Then enjoy the trip there. Talk it out. Don’t over think it, just chat with your characters. Take out some time and just drop your characters in crazy situations and have them talking through it. What if an intruder broke into your main character’s home? What would that 911 call sound like? Now up the stakes. Then up them again. That’s what Gloria Kempton uses in her book Dialogue.

Read it!

