Big Words!

At some point I begin drifting off while reading reference books on writing. Not because they’re boring, but because my brain goes into information overload and starts shutting down. Then I know it’s time for two things: Coffee and Writing.

One of the things I’ve read in Plot & Structure is to set a word goal. I’ve often heard of setting aside time each day to write. However, how often do we just sit and stare? We sit and brainstorm, edit, research, re-write, and organize but we don’t actually write. And while all of those things are important, and at some point necessary, if we don’t have any story to edit then we haven’t done our job.

So for each day I have set a minimal goal of 1,000 words. It sounds like a lot if you’re not a writer, and probably very few if you’re a seasoned one. But for me that’s my goal. It’s attainable and challenging. But for all the other time allotted in the day I’m studying to do better.

This goal also allows my brain to not overload and push out crap. I’m constantly churning over bits of my story. Reworking them to make them even better. So when I sit down to write what I have concocted spills over onto the pages. Don’t stress over writing. That is where your creativity will struggle. Play with your story. Write crazy scenarios with insane endings. It’ll help you build that imagination of yours. (Yep, it’s there!)

But mainly, at the end of the day, don’t let discouragement filter down into your soul. Remember, You ARE a WRITER. It is WORK. Even if you are talented in this particular field it will take some honing to get it just right. I personally write for leisure. I enjoy putting together a story. When it comes down to it though I need a lot, A LOT, of work! It’s fun and challenging.

I remember when I was in high school and accidentally got dropped into an art class. (I wanted photography but the teacher closed the dark room.) I LOVE to draw. It is one of my favorite things to do. I love putting my pencil on my sketch book and letting the ideas flow in a way I don’t have to describe. But when I was told to draw something specific it was difficult. And annoying. I didn’t draw comic book style things. I couldn’t capture light in a glass bottle. I didn’t know how to get the look of despair down on paper. All I did draw were things my mind came up with, which usually ended up looking a little cartoon-y.

But he challenged me! He showed us different styles of shading and art in general. He made us sketch things that were difficult. And no two students drew things the same way! Each and every piece was different, even if it was of the same image. Now I adore sketching wine bottles in the sun. And capturing the perfect expression. It may still be a tad cartoon looking but it has the desired effect.

Just like in writing we need someone to push us past our limits. To show us how to utilize our brains to their fullest creative extent. It may be something like a word goal. Or it may be doing writing exercises. (Yep you have to exercise here too!)

But when it’s all said and done don’t overload yourself. You have to stay loose to let those creative juices flow. So after a hard day of life and writing stuff go off and have that much deserved cup o’ joe. And a muffin if you so desire. Trust me, it’s totally worth it.

**Also on a side note I wanted to let everyone know what’s going on with my stacks. I’m still going strong on Awakening. Lisa also has released the latest Fated novella as well, I still need to pick that one up. I am about to re-read the last Soulless novel to give you guys the last review in that series. And that’s about it for the moment. I’ve been preoccupied with Plot & Structure in between all of those so it’s taking a bit longer, sorry for the delay. But I hope you’ll forgive me when you read my book! Remember to tell everyone you know and talk about it like it’s your new boyfriend/girlfriend!

I want to hear your opinions! Do you ever get burned out? Have you ever been challenged? Let me know in the comments!

Have a good one!

