Writing!

So, an amazing author recently gave me the link to a blog written by Kristen Lamb. She is a published author and in many ways a mentor to writers of all kinds.
As I was scrolling through some of her posts I happened upon one that really hit the nail on the head for me, like many often do.
She mentioned something called doing a Fast Draft. This means writing all the way through-with NO editing! I know it is scary. I tend to over think my stories, but if you just sit down and write it’ll come together better than you could have thought. *haha*
Anyway, she said that editing grammar and such is all that’s allowed.
Also, she said not to try and write the perfect piece. There are so many different tastes and styles out there that it’s not possible (or sane) to please everyone. For me this is the hardest. I don’t want to write anything too close to another story. That’s my biggest hold up.
*sigh*
So, I take a deep breath and remember that it’s my story and my characters that I can do ANYTHING with. Then I write.
Who cares if it doesn’t work later? Fix it during the editing process – after your initial draft.
Anyway, I hope that inspires you to let the thoughts for freely. With a Fast Draft it is a release. For those of you who are curious Kristen Lamb’s blog is http://www.warriorwriters.wordpress.com.
Have a great week!

